Header Ad
HomeDEFENCEGreatest battles in the history of India # 1

Greatest battles in the history of India # 1

- Advertisement -

Ever since times immemorial wars have led to death and destruction and changed the course of history. From Alexander the Great to the Indo-Pakistani conflicts, India witnessed some of the fiercest battles which left a mark in history. These include:

Name of the BattleYearImportance
1st battle of Tarain1191Prithviraj Chauhan defeated Mohammed Ghori
2nd battle of Tarain1192Mohammad Ghori defeated Prithviraj Chauhan
1st battle of Panipat1526Babar defeated Ibrahim Lodi
Battle of Khanwa1527Babur defeated Rana Sunga strengthening his foothold in India.
Battle of Ghaghra1529Babur defeated Mahmud Lodi and Sultan Nusrat Shah establishing Mughal rule in India.
Battle of Chausa1539Sher Shah defeated Humayun ending the Mughal rule in India.
Battle of Kanauj or Billgram1540Sher Shah defeated Humayun for the second time.
2nd battle of Panipat1556Akbar defeated Hemu
Battle of Talikota1565Deccan Sultanates defeated the glorious Vijayanagar empire
Battle of Haldighati1576Raja Man Singh of Mughal Army and Rana Pratap of Mewar
Battle of Plassey1757British defeated Siraj-ud-duala with the help of Mir Zafar. This battle laid the foundation of British empire in India.
3rd battle of Panipat1761Ahmed Shah Abdali defeated the Marathas
Battle of Wandiwash1760British decisively defeated the French in India. The Seven years war (1756 – 1763) between the British and the French in Europe ran parallel to this war. 3 Carnatic wars were fought between the British and the French and this battle was a part of the 3rd Carnatic War.
Battle of Buxar1764British defeated the combined forces of Mir Qasim, Shuja-ud-duala (Nawab of Oudh) and Shah Alam II(Mughal emperor). This completed the work began by the battle of Plassey.
Battle of Samugarh1658Aurangzeb defeated Dara Shikoh.
Battle of Karnal1739Nadir Shah defeated

 (To be continued)

- Advertisement -
Taazakhabar News Bureau
Taazakhabar News Bureau
Taazakhabar News Bureau is a team of seasoned journalists led by Neeraj Mahajan. Trusted by millions readers worldwide.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular